P rior to opening the Erickson & Brown Funeral Home in 1939, William O. Erickson and Max P. Brown both worked for Sam Witherow. Mr. Witherow owned and operated a funeral home at 102 Asher Street. Mr. Erickson arrived in Taft first and a few years later brought his nephew, Max Brown, to Taft. In 1937 Mr. Witherow built a “state of the art” mortuary building at 501 Lucard Street and moved the business from Asher Street to the Lucard location. In 1939 Mr. Erickson and Mr. Brown left the employ of Mr. Witherow and started their own business called Erickson & Brown Funeral Home at 300 Lucard Street. After WWII Mr. Brown purchased the mortuary building at 501 Lucard Street from Mr. Witherow and moved the Erickson & Brown Funeral Home to its current location. In the late 40s Mr. Erickson & Mr. Brown hired Wally Carnes. Over the years Mr. Carnes became an intregal member and part owner of the business. In 1977 Charles V. and Jennifer Landwehr moved to Taft and Charles was hired by Erickson & Brown Funeral Home as an embalmer. Two years later the Landwehrs were offered the opportunity to purchase stock in the business and, of course, they did. Bruce Ioppini joined in ownership in 1981 and remained for fours years. After Bruce left, the Landwehrs became the sole owners. The years rolled by and the Landwehrs raised three sons in Taft and continued the tradition of “service, understanding, dignity and experience” that had been established by the funeral home founders. In 1987, Taft native, Angie Milner, joined the team and has since become an invaluable and trusted employee and friend. Charlie, Jennifer and Angie are proud to be a part of Taft and are privileged to own and work at one of Taft's oldest, continually operated, family owned businesses.